The United States of America is a federal republic consisting of 50 states, a federal district (Washington, D.C.), five major territories, and also various minor islands. The 50 states are the main governing divisions of the country, and therefore they have a great deal of autonomy. Each state also has its own constitution, government, and laws.

here is a sheet table on the article:

StateAbbreviationCapitalDate Admitted to the Union
AlabamaALMontgomeryDecember 14, 1819
AlaskaAKJuneauJanuary 3, 1959
ArizonaAZPhoenixFebruary 14, 1912
ArkansasARLittle RockJune 15, 1836
CaliforniaCASacramentoSeptember 9, 1850
ColoradoCODenverAugust 1, 1876
ConnecticutCTHartfordJanuary 9, 1788
DelawareDEDoverDecember 7, 1787
FloridaFLTallahasseeMarch 3, 1845
GeorgiaGAAtlantaJanuary 2, 1788
HawaiiHIHonoluluAugust 21, 1959
IdahoIDBoiseJuly 3, 1890
IllinoisILSpringfieldDecember 3, 1818
IndianaINIndianapolisDecember 11, 1816
IowaIADes MoinesDecember 28, 1846
KansasKSTopekaJanuary 29, 1861
KentuckyKYFrankfortJune 1, 1792
LouisianaLABaton RougeApril 30, 1812
MaineMEAugustaMarch 15, 1820
MarylandMDAnnapolisApril 28, 1788
MassachusettsMABostonFebruary 6, 1788
MichiganMILansingJanuary 16, 1837
MinnesotaMNSt. PaulMay 11, 1858
MississippiMSJacksonDecember 10, 1817
MissouriMOJefferson CityAugust 10, 1821
MontanaMTHelenaNovember 8, 1889
NebraskaNELincolnMarch 1, 1867
NevadaNVCarson CityOctober 31, 1864
New HampshireNHConcordJune 21, 1788
New JerseyNJTrentonDecember 18, 1787
New MexicoNMSanta FeJanuary 6, 1912
New YorkNYAlbanyJuly 26, 1788
North CarolinaNCRaleighNovember 21, 1789
North DakotaNDBismarckNovember 2, 1889
OhioOHColumbusMarch 1, 1803
OklahomaOKOklahoma CityNovember 16, 1907
OregonORSalemFebruary 14, 1859
PennsylvaniaPAHarrisburgDecember 12, 1787
Rhode IslandRIProvidenceMay 29, 1790
South CarolinaSCColumbiaMay 23, 1788
South DakotaSDPierreNovember 2, 1889
TennesseeTNNashvilleJune 1, 1796
TexasTXAustinDecember 29, 1845
UtahUTSalt Lake CityJanuary 4, 1896
VermontVTMontpelierMarch 4, 1791
VirginiaVARichmondJune 25, 1788
WashingtonWAOlympiaNovember 11, 1889
West VirginiaWVCharlestonJune 20, 1863
WisconsinWIMadisonMay 29, 1848
WyomingWYCheyenneJuly 10, 1890

The first 13 states were the original colonies that declared independence from Great Britain in 1776. These states were:

  • Delaware
  • Pennsylvania
  • New Jersey
  • Georgia
  • Connecticut
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • South Carolina
  • New Hampshire
  • Virginia
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Rhode Island

since then, 37 more states admitted to the Union.

The most recent states to join were Alaska in 1959 and Hawaii in 1960

The states divided into two main regions: the contiguous 48 states and Alaska. The contiguous 48 states connected each other by land. Alaska is located in the northwestern corner of North America, and it is also the largest state in the country. Hawaii is an island chain in the Pacific Ocean, and it is the only state that is not connected to the mainland by land.

The 50 states are home to a diverse population of over 330 million people. The states also vary greatly in size, population, and geography. Therefore some of the most populous states include California, Texas, New York, and Florida. Some of the smallest states include Rhode Island, Delaware, and Wyoming.

The states are an important part of the United States government. Therefore they have a great deal of autonomy, and they play a key role in the federal system. The states are responsible for providing essential services such as education, healthcare, and infrastructure. They also play a role in the national economy, and they are home to many businesses and industries.

The 50 states are a vital part of the United States. They are home to a diverse population, and they also play an important role in the federal system. The states are a source of strength and unity for the country, and therefore they will continue to play an important role in the future.

Additional Information

  • The states are alphabetically ordered in the United States Code, therefore it is the official codification of federal law.
  • The states are also alphabetically ordered on license plates, currency, and other official government documents.
  • The states are divided into congressional districts, which are also used to elect members of the United States House of Representatives.
  • The states are also divided into electoral districts, which are used to elect the president of the United States.

I hope this article has answered your question about how many states are in the United States. So if you have any other questions, please feel free to ask.


How many states are in the United States?

There are 50 states in the United States.

What are the most populous states?

The most populous states are California, Texas, New York, and Florida.

What are the smallest states?

The smallest states are Rhode Island, Delaware, and Wyoming.

What is the newest state?

The newest states are Alaska and Hawaii, which were admitted to the Union in 1959.

What is the capital of the United States?

The capital of the United States is Washington, D.C., which is not a state.